Get Involved: Volunteer

Get Involved. Volunteer!


Cath the vision and come make it happen. Winston Salem and Forsyth County are changing...and so are its libraries. It is no longer just a repository for books. The library is a place to meet, share, learn and grow.

As a library volunteer, you will have an opportunity to contribute ot your community, improve library service, learn new things, enhance your work skills, make new friends, and become part of a team. We need talented volunteers like you at our downtown Central Library and at our branch libraries. We offer orientation and training for volunteers. Call or stop by your local branch for more information, or you can email us. Volunteer opportunities are filled based on the needs of each library branch.


Be a "Helping Hand"

Share your time, skills, and talents with your local library. Opportunities are available in the following areas:

  • Youth services
  • Computer projects
  • Arts and crafts
  • Senior adult services
  • Computer coaching
  • Homework Help
  • Hospitality for public programs
  • Clerical
  • And more, as needed

Ways You Can Help

  • Help us keep our shelves in order (Adopt-a-Shelf)
  • Update bulletin boards
  • Lead discussions for adult reading projects
  • Organize programs
  • Assist in research, genealogy or N.C. history
  • Care for audio/video, DVD, CD collections
  • Prepare materials
  • Greet patrons and direct them to resources

Share With the Children

Encourage children to grow by volunteering to work in the children and teen areas.



County Services

View our Online Adoption Photos
Open Your Home and Your Heart . . . Adopt a Child

Our Latest Tweets

Contact Us

336-703-BOOK (2665)
Email: Contact Us
Hours of Operation
Monday-Thursday 9 a.m. to 8 p.m.
Friday 9 a.m. to 6 p.m
Saturday 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

To-Go Service Hours
Monday-Thursday 9 a.m. to 8 p.m.
Friday 9 a.m. to 6 p.m
Saturday 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Holiday Closings
Monday, January 2 - New Year's Day
Monday, January 16 - Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday
Friday, April 7 - Good Friday
Monday, May 29 - Memorial Day
Tuesday, July 4 - Independence Day
Monday, September 4 - Labor Day
Friday, November 10 - Veteran's Day
Thursday, November 23 - Thanksgiving
Friday, November 24 - Thanksgiving
Friday, December 22 - Christmas holiday begins
Monday, December 25 - Christmas
Tuesday, December 26 - Christmas