

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS Agenda August 20, 2019 - 5:00 p.m.

- 1. Meeting Called to Order
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance
- 3. Moment of Silence
- 4. Public Comments
- 5. Approval of Minutes
- 6. Approval of Election Notice for 2019 High Point Primary
- 7. Approval of Resolutions for Temporary Polling Place Changes/Transfers of 2019 High Point Primary and Municipal Elections
- 8. Appointment of Precinct Officials for 2019-2021 term
- 9. Other Business
- 10. Closed Session (if necessary)
- 11. Adjournment

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS

Meeting Minutes August 20, 2019 – 5 p.m.

Meeting Called to Order

A regular meeting of the Forsyth County Board of Elections was called to order in the fourth floor Multipurpose Room - A on August 20, 2019 at 5:00 p.m. Chairperson Campbell presiding.

Board Members in attendance: Chairperson Susan Campbell, Secretary Robert Durrah, Member

Stuart Russell (Arrived 5:27 p.m.), Member John Loughridge, and

Member Catherine Jourdan

Staff Members in attendance: Director Tim Tsujii (via phone), Deputy Director Michelle Bobadilla,

Carlton Morgan, Monica Gary, Tracy Teal and Kimberly Stuck

Pledge of Allegiance

Chairperson Campbell led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Moment of Silence

Chairperson Campbell led a moment of silence.

Public Comment Session

Chairperson Campbell called for public comments; noting three minutes would be allotted for each speaker:

Brian Miller – 4395 Sandlewood Ct, Winston Salem, NC 27106

Secretary Durrah moved to close public comments; Member Loughridge seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

Chairperson Campbell introduced the Board of Elections new Deputy Director Michelle Bobadilla and provided a brief overview of her education, credentials, work history and noting her desire to work on the local government level to enable positive change.

Chairperson Campbell called for agenda Item #8 - Appointment of Precinct Officials for 2019-2021 term to be brought forward to accommodate scheduling needs. Catherine Jourdan moved to bring Appointment of Precinct Officials for 2019-2021 forward in the agenda; Member Loughridge seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

Appointment of Precinct Officials for 2019-2021 term

Tracy Teal presented the Board with a list of Precinct Officials for review and approval and an additional list that required the Board to make a determination based on service and which met the statutory requirement to enable the appointment of the officials. Director Tsujii clarified for the Board

that statutorily Election Day officials are not considered employees. Member Jourdan moved to approve the Precinct Official list as presented; Member Russell seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

Ms. Teal provided the Board with an overview of those precincts that required Board action to appoint the Chief Judge for Precincts 042 – Fellowship Baptist Church; 043 – Friedland Moravian Church; 068 – Project Re 3; and 081 – Crestwood Baptist Church. Chairperson Campbell called for discussion or recommendation. The Board discussed options provided for Precinct 042 – Fellowship Baptist Church. Secretary Durrah moved to appoint Tamara Reed for Chief Judge; Member Jourdan seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

The Board discussed options provided for the remaining Precinct officials for consideration. Chairperson Campbell, based upon the discussion had by the Board, offered for consideration Cheryl Reich-Tillman for 043 – Friedland Moravian Church; Secretary Durrah offered for consideration Caron Armstrong for 068 – Project Re 3. Member Jourdan clarified that Nancy Bullard would be placed at another precinct.

Member Russell moved to approve the Chief Judge appointments for 043 – Friedland Moravian Church: Cheryl Reich-Tillman; 068 – Project Re 3: Caron Armstrong; 068 – Project Re 3: Nancy Bullard – Moved alternate polling location; 081 – Crestwood Baptist Church: Martha Stewart; Member Loughridge seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

Approval of Minutes

Secretary Durrah moved to approve the July 18, 2019 meeting minutes as submitted; Secretary Russell seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

Approval of Election Notice for 2019 High Point Primary

Chairperson Campbell spoke to the need to approve the Notice of 2019 High Point Primary and provided an overview of the consolidation process from Union Cross to Beeson Crossroad Fire Station.

<u>Approval of Resolutions for Temporary Polling Place Changes/Transfers of 2019 High Point Primary and Municipal Elections</u>

Chairperson Campbell called for the approval of the Resolution for the Change of Voting Places for the 2019 City of High Point Primary Election; Secretary Durrah moved to approve the Resolution for the Change of Voting Places for the 2019 City of High Point Primary Election; Member Loughridge seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

Chairperson Campbell called for the approval of the Resolution Regarding Temporary Assignment of Voters to Alternate Polling Places for the 2019 City of High Point Primary Election; Secretary Durrah moved to approve the Resolution Regarding Temporary Assignment of Voters to Alternate Polling Places for the 2019 City of High Point Primary; Member Russell seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

Chairperson Campbell called for the approval of the Change of Voting Places for the 2019 Municipal General Election. Secretary Durrah moved to approve the Temporary Assignment of Voters to

Alternate Polling Places for the 2019 Municipal General Election; Secretary Durrah withdrew his motion.

Chairperson Campbell recalled for the approval of the Change of Voting Places for the 2019 Municipal General Election; Member Russell moved to approve the Change of Voting Places for the 2019 Municipal General Election; Member Loughridge seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

Chairperson Campbell called for the approval of the Resolution Regarding Temporary Assignment of Voters to Alternate Polling Places for the 2019 Municipal General Election; Secretary Durrah moved to approve the Resolution Regarding Temporary Assignment of Voters to Alternate Polling Places for the 2019 Municipal General Election; Member Russell seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

Member Russell reintroduced the Notice of Municipal Primary to be Held October 08, 2019 for Board for approval. Secretary Durrah moved to approve the Notice of Municipal Primary to be Held October 08, 2019 for Board; Member Loughridge seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

Member Russell called for a point of clarification of the notice title.

Other Business

Chairperson Campbell called for other business; none offered.

Adjournment

Chairperson Campbell called for a motion to adjourn the Board meeting; Secretary Durrah moved to adjourn the Board meeting; Member Russell seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**. Meeting adjourned at 6:22 p.m.

Approved:

- s/ Susan Campbell Chair
- s/ Robert Durrah Secretary
- s/ Stuart Russell Member
- s/ John Loughridge Member
- s/ Catherine Jourdan Member