BOARD OF ELECTIONS

Susan Campbell Chairperson

Stuart Russell Vice-Chair

Robert Durrah, Jr. Secretary

John Loughridge, Jr. Member



Tim Tsujii Director

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS AGENDA July 17, 2018

- 1. Meeting Called to Order
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance
- 3. Moment of Silence
- 4. Public Comments
- 5. Approval of Minutes
- 6. Appointment of Officers
- 7. Approval of One-Stop Voting Plan for 2018 General Election
- 8. Other Business
- 9. Closed Session (if needed)
- 10. Adjournment

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS Meeting Minutes July 17, 2018

Meeting Called to Order

A special meeting of the Forsyth County Board of Elections was called to order in the fifth floor Commissioners' Meeting Room on July 17, 2018 at 5 p.m., Chairperson Campbell presiding.

Board Members in attendance: Chairperson Campbell, Vice-Chairman Russell, Secretary Durrah, and Member Loughridge

Staff Members in attendance: Director Tim Tsujii and Kimberly Stuck

Other Staff: Assistant County Attorney - Lonnie Albright

Pledge of Allegiance

Chairperson Campbell led the pledge of allegiance.

Moment of Silence

Chairperson Campbell led a moment of silence.

Public Comment Session

Chairperson Campbell called for public comments, two minutes provided for speakers:

Brian Miller – 4395 Sandalwood Court, Winston-Salem, NC 27106 Beverly Lung – 7004 Discovery Lane, Walkertown, NC 27051 Angela Levine – 5484 Spindletop Court, Winston-Salem, NC 27106 Larry Womble – 1294 Salem, Lake Road., Winston-Salem, NC 27107 Ana Tampana – 2670 Belwick Drive. Winston-Salem, NC 27106 Jim Norris – 943 Panola Road, Winston-Salem, NC 27106 Benjamin Spencer – 2329 Vincent Road, Winston-Salem, NC 27106 James Knox – 125 Buckhaven Court, Rural Hall, NC 27045 Jemma Johnson – 4609 Sun Valley Lane, Kernersville, NC 27284 Christel Blackwell – 3256 Winthrop Street, Walkertown, NC 27051

Secretary Durrah moved to close public comments; Vice-Chairman Russell seconded; Motion carried unanimously.

Approval of Minutes

Secretary Durrah reviewed the minutes for July 10, 2018; Member Loughridge moved to approve the minutes as presented; Vice Chairman Russell seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

Appointment of Officers

Chairperson Campbell moved to nominate Stuart Russell for Chairman, Member Loughridge seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**. Chairman Russell moved to nominate Susan Campbell for Vice – Chairperson; Member Loughridge seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**; Vice Chairperson

Campbell moved to retain Robert Durrah Jr. as Secretary; Member Loughridge seconded; **Motion** carried unanimously.

Approval of One-Stop Voting Plan for 2018 General Election

The Board brought back from the table the One Stop Early Voting plan for continued discussion. Secretary Durrah moved to approve a One-Stop plan with 12 sites, including Winston-Salem State University's Anderson Center, Vice-Chairperson Campbell seconded; the motion did not pass 2-2, with Vice-Chairperson Campbell and Secretary Durrah in the affirmative and Chairman Russell and Member Loughridge dissenting. Vice-Chairperson Campbell moved to approve a One-Stop plan with 11 sites, including Winston-Salem State University's Anderson Center, Secretary Durrah seconded; the motion did not pass 2-2, with Vice-Chairperson Campbell and Secretary Durrah in the affirmative and Chairman Russell with 11 sites, including Winston-Salem State University's Anderson Center, Secretary Durrah seconded; the motion did not pass 2-2, with Vice-Chairperson Campbell and Secretary Durrah in the affirmative and Chairman Russell and Member Loughridge dissenting. Chairman Russell moved to approve 11 sites – Board of Elections, Brown and Douglas, Clemmons Library, Kernersville VFW Post #5352, Lewisville Library, Mazie Woodruff, Miller Park Recreation, Old Town Library, Rural Hall Library, South Side Library, Reynolds Park Recreation (WR Anderson Jr. Center); opening 7 a.m. and closing 7 p.m. during the weekdays of October 17, 2018 through November 2, 2018 and 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. for Saturday, October 27, 2018 and Saturday, November 3, 2018; Member Loughridge seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

Other Business

No other business proposed.

Closed Session (if needed) None

Adjournment

Chairman Russell moved to adjourn; Member Loughridge seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**. Meeting adjourned 5:51 p.m

Approved:

Stuart Russell, Chair

Susan Campbell, Vice Chair

Robert Durrah, Secretary

John Loughridge, Member

Date

Date

Date

Date