BOARD OF ELECTIONS

J. Eric Elliott
CHAIR

Linda J. Sutton SECRETARY

Jerry D. Jordan MEMBER



Robert H. Coffman Director of Elections

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS EMERGENCY BOARD MEETING- OCTOBER 31, 2008

Present: J. Eric Elliott, Chair

Linda J. Sutton, Secretary Jerry D. Jordan, Member

Staff: Rob Coffman, Director of Elections

Lamar Joyner, Deputy Director of Elections

Call To Order

The Chair called the meeting to order at 12:00 Noon.

Extending One-Stop on Final Day

Mr. Elliott stated the Board is meeting as required by a "show cause order" from the State Board of Elections. Mr. Elliott stated the assistant county attorney advised the Board they needed a 48 hour notice to have a public meeting, which is why the emergency meeting was originally scheduled for Saturday, November 1st, 2009. Mr. Elliott read aloud the directives from the State Board of Elections.

The State Board of Elections authorized extended hours for the last day of One-Stop voting but required the county Boards of Elections to meet and approve the extension. The State Board of Elections indicated if only 1 of the 3 Board Members voted for extending the hours, then the extension must be implemented. State Statute indicates One-Stop voting ends at 1:00 PM on the Saturday before Election Day.

Mr. Elliott stated he did not think the hours need to be extended. He stated he is concerned about the State Board of Elections changing things after the One-Stop plans have been approved.

Ms. Sutton moved to extend the One-Stop closing time to 5:00 PM on Saturday, November 1, 2008. Mr. Jordan stated the Chairman of the Republican Party directed him to vote in favor of the extended hours because more Republicans are in the city and more early voting sites are in Republican areas. Mr. Jordan seconded the motion to extend the hours of the One-Stop locations to 5:00 PM. The motion passed 2-1.

<u>Adj</u>	<u>ournment</u>	
Mc	Sutton moved to adjourn the meeting	The motion passed

unanimously and the meeting was adjourned at 12:30 PM.

J. Eric Elliott, Chair		
Linda J. Sutton, Secretary		
Jerry D. Jordan, Member		