## **BOARD OF ELECTIONS**

Linda J. Sutton Chair

Michael Flatow Secretary

Jonathan S. Dills
Member



Robert H. Coffman Director of Elections

Lamar Joyner Deputy Director

# FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS BOARD MEETING MINUTES – May 31, 2012

### **Call to Order**

A regular meeting of the Forsyth County Board of Elections was held in the Cooper Cardwell Elections Room on May 31, 2012. The meeting convened at 11:10 AM, Chairman Linda Sutton presiding.

Board Members in attendance: Chairman Linda Sutton, Secretary Michael Flatow, Member

Jonathan Dills

Staff Members in attendance: Director Robert Coffman, Judy Speas

## **Approval of Minutes**

Chairman Sutton requested that the Board review the minutes of May 15, 2012. Member Dills moved and Secretary Flatow seconded the motion to approve the minutes of May 15, 2012. Motion carried.

#### Other Business

Board members were presented with the 2012 Second Primary Election Schedule and the One-Stop Early Voting, Location, Dates/Times Schedule documents.

Chairman Sutton questioned Mr. Coffman regarding an article appearing in the Yes Weekly newspaper.

Mr. Coffman stated that the Second Primary absentee ballots had been mailed timely. Board members discussed precinct scheduling issues for the Second Primary Election. A few precincts may need to be merged to alleviate the problems.

Chairman Sutton addressed the Primary Election voting problems and poll worker training. Mr. Coffman stated that a common issue answer sheet may be helpful as a training instrument. Board members agreed that problems should be documented and addressed proactively. Board members agreed that their participation at poll worker training sessions would be valuable. Secretary Flatow asked that a summary of the Primary Election voting problems and resolutions be presented at the next meeting.

Mr. Coffman explained the distribution of ballots to voters in the Second Primary Election. Chairman Sutton stated that the evaluation of the Director should be completed at the next meeting.

#### Adjournment

Chairman Sutton moved and Secretary Flatow seconded the motion to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried and the meeting was adjourned at 12:01 PM. The next meeting will be held in the Cooper Cardwell Elections Room on Tuesday, June 12, 2012, at 11:00 AM.

Approved:	
Linda J. Sutton, Chair	Date
Michael Flatow, Secretary	Date
Jonathan S. Dills, Member	Date

**Attachments on File:** 2012 2<sup>nd</sup> Primary Election Schedule, One-Stop Early Voting, Location, Dates/Times Schedule