BOARD OF ELECTIONS

Linda J. Sutton CHAIR

Frank M. Dickerson SECRETARY

Jerry D. Jordan



Robert H. Coffman Director of Elections

Lamar Joyner Deputy Director

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS BOARD MEETING – June 22, 2010 SECOND PRIMARY ELECTION

Present: Linda J. Sutton, Chair

Frank M. Dickerson, Secretary Jerry D. Jordan, Member

Staff: Rob Coffman, Director of Elections

Lamar Joyner, Deputy Director of Elections

Judy Speas, Senior Office Assistant Rebecca VanderKlok, Office Assistant

Call to Order

The Chair called the meeting to order at 11:08 PM in the Cooper Cardwell Elections Room.

Approval of Minutes

The Board reviewed the minutes for June 15, 2010. Ms. Sutton requested any corrections or additions to the minutes. Mr. Dickerson moved to approve the minutes. The motion passed unanimously.

Approval of Absentee Ballots

The Staff recommended 38 absentee ballots for approval and one for disapproval. Mr. Jordan moved to approve the recommendation of absentee ballots by staff. The motion passed unanimously.

2010 Annual Goals of the Director of Elections

Ms. Sutton requested suggestions for the annual goals for Mr. Coffman, Director of Elections, which is submitted to the Human Resources Department.

Mr. Coffman responded that the most important objective should be the continued training of poll workers with Jacob Wright, the Department Training Specialist. It would be suggested that poll workers attend the Precinct Election Official Certification Program which would give an in-depth understanding of the election process. It is the goal of the North Carolina State Board of Elections to have at least one certified precinct official in every polling place in the state. Mr. Coffman suggested that the certified poll workers should receive a stipend of \$20 for every election worked after completing the training. Mr. Dickerson stated that the prime objective should be to train the precinct chief judges. Ms. Sutton also agreed that the trained judges should be given the additional stipend for each election to

encourage training registration. Discussion followed regarding the political parties participation in recruitment and annual review of precinct workers. Their increased involvement would be a great enhancement to the election process.

Mr. Coffman stated that the next objective should be increased staff development, particularly the skills of the Instructional Technology staff, Chris Duffey and Carlton Morgan.

The Board requested that Mr. Coffman also evaluate possible preliminary precinct boundary changes to take effect after the Census results are completed next year. Mr. Coffman stated that census boundary lines will follow precinct boundary lines currently in place called Voter Tabulation Districts (VTD). Precinct splits now occur in the State House and City Wards. Ms. Sutton asked whether a preliminary goal to plan for precinct closures should be included. Mr. Jordan stated that the numbering scheme of the precincts could be evaluated along with the precinct boundary changes and could be implemented in the 2012 elections.

Mr. Coffman stated that an additional goal would be to complete the Certified North Carolina Elections Administrator program. All requirements and credits have been completed during the last three years as Director. The final step to complete the program is the written examination which will be scheduled by the State Board of Elections.

The Board agreed that the 2010 Annual Goals of the Director of Elections were appropriate and determined to rank the goals by the following percentage:

Training for Poll workers	20%
Staff Development - IT skills	15%
Preliminary Precinct line changes: Boundary plans & numbering method proposals	10%
SBE Certification: Complete required examination	10%

Other Business

Ms. Sutton stated that an analysis of the use of electronic poll books should be completed after the election. Mr. Coffman stated that the current lap top computers were borrowed from the Winston-Salem/Forsyth County School System and that approximately \$100,000 should be budgeted for acquisition of new precinct computers. He said that the continued electronic poll book training of poll workers; additional requirement of loading voter data onto each lap top; and, the need of renting additional delivery trucks had produced several new issues for each election.

The Board discussed and agreed that a change of language would be suggested for the Onsite Voter Registration Database, the electronic poll book system regulated by the State Board of Elections. The wording should be improved to prompt the precinct worker in asking an unaffiliated voter for the proper ballot type in a primary election.

The Board discussed a complaint received from a voter in Precinct 802, Summit School, during the day. An unaffiliated voter was recorded as voting non-partisan in the Primary Election and was unable to receive a ballot of his choice in the Second Primary Election. This occurs by statute because an unaffiliated voter

who voted non-partisan in the First Primary is unable to receive a Democratic or Republican ballot in a Second Primary. The voter received a provisional ballot to be reviewed on Canvass Day.

The Board discussed a problem at Precinct 904, Mission Hispana, where an incorrect key to the building was given to the chief judge. Another key was brought and set up was completed before voters arrived.

Mr. Coffman informed the Board that reminder calls of the election were made to the precinct locations last week. Also, robotic reminder calls were made to the poll workers through a web source on Monday, June 21st.

<u>Adjournment</u>

Mr. Coffman stated that staff would update absentee early voting results at 7:30 PM that evening. The Board agreed to meet later that evening to oversee election results. Ms. Sutton requested a motion to adjourn the meeting. Mr. Dickerson moved to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously and the meeting was adjourned at 11:52 AM. The next Board of Elections meeting will be on Canvass Day, June 29, 2010 at 11:00 AM in the Cooper Cardwell Elections Room.

Linda J. Sutton, Chair	
Frank M. Dickerson, Secretary	
Jerry D. Jordan. Member	