

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS Agenda February 18, 2020 - 5:00 p.m.

- 1. Meeting Called to Order
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance
- 3. Moment of Silence
- 4. Public Comments
- 5. Approval of Minutes
- 6. Approval of Absentee Problems and Solutions Guidelines
- 7. Approval of Absentee Ballots
- 8. Approval of Early Voting Machines Test
- 9. Approval of Poll Observers
- 10. Other Business
- 11. Closed Session
- 12. Adjournment

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS Meeting Minutes February 18, 2020 – 5:00 p.m.

Meeting Called to Order

A meeting of the Forsyth County Board of Elections was called to order in the third floor Professional Development Center on February 18, 2020 at 5:03 p.m. Chairperson Campbell presiding.

Board Members in attendance: Chairperson Susan Campbell, Secretary Robert Durrah, Member Stuart Russell (via telephone, in person at 5:20 p.m.), Member John Loughridge, and Member Catherine Jourdan

Staff Members in attendance: Director Tsujii, Deputy Director Michelle Bobadilla, Monica Gary, and Kimberly Stuck

Other: Assistant County Attorney Lonnie Albright

Pledge of Allegiance

Chairperson Campbell led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Moment of Silence

Chairperson Campbell led a moment of silence.

Public Comment Session

Chairperson Campbell called for public comments, none provided.

Approval of Meeting Minutes

Member Loughridge moved to approve meeting minutes as submitted; Member Jourdan seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

Approval of Absentee Problems and Solutions Guidelines

Director Tsujii presented the revised Absentee Problems and Solutions Guidelines to the Board for review and approval. Secretary Durrah moved to approve the Absentee Problems and Solutions Guidelines as submitted; Member Jourdan seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

Approval of Absentee Ballots

Ms. Gary requested a correction to the total for February 11, 2020 Approved ballot total; Ms. Gary stated that one additional approved ballot needed to be included for a revised total of 72 Civilian, 7 Military/Overseas approved and 23 disapproved. Secretary Durrah moved to approve the revised total from February 11, 2020; Member Loughridge seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

Ms. Gary submitted 47 Civilian, 3 Military and 1 Overseas ballots to the Board for review and approval, noting the grand total of ballots was 130; Member Russell joined the meeting in person at 5:20 p.m.; Ms. Gary presented 4 Military ballots for review and remark.. Secretary Durrah moved to approve the staff recommendation for the ballots presented; Member Russell seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

Approval of Early Voting Machine Tests

Deputy Director Bobadilla presented the list of the ExpressVote and DS200 acceptance and logic & accuracy testing results for One-Stop Early Voting to the Board for review and approval. Director Tsujii provided an overview of the test pattern used;

noting that each ballot contest was tested accordingly. Member Russell moved to approve the test results for the Express Vote and DS200; Secretary Durrah seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

Approval of Poll Observers

Director Tsujii presented the list of timely submissions for poll observers to the Board for review and approval. Member Jourdan moved to approve the observers list submitted; Secretary Durrah seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

Other Business

Mr. Tsujii provided an overview of Early Voting to the time of the meeting stating that he believed it would be comparable in turnout with the 2016 primary election.

Closed Session

Secretary Durrah moved for the Board to go into closed session citing GS 143 § 318.11(a)(6) to consider the qualifications, competence, performance, or condition of appointment of a public officer or employee or prospective public officer or employee; Member Jourdan seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**. The Board entered closed session at 5:50 p.m. to adjourn immediately following closed session.

Adjournment

Secretary Durrah move to adjourn; Member Jourdan seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**. Board meeting adjourned at 5:55 p.m. following closed session.

Approved:

- s/ Susan Campbell Chair
- s/ Robert Durrah Secretary
- s/ Stuart Russell Member
- s/ John Loughridge Member
- s/ Catherine Jourdan Member