BOARD OF ELECTIONS

Ken Raymond Chairman

Stuart Russell Secretary

Susan Campbell Member



Tim Tsujii
Director

Lamar Joyner Deputy Director

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS Agenda February 15, 2018

- 1. Meeting Called to Order
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance
- 3. Moment of Silence
- 4. Public Comments
- 5. Approval of Minutes
- 6. Resolution to Count Absentee Ballots at 2pm on Election Day
- 7. Approval of One-Stop Voting Plan for May Primary
- 8. Other Business
- 9. Closed Session (if needed)
- 10. Adjournment

FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS

Meeting Minutes February 15, 2018

Meeting Called to Order

A meeting of the Forsyth County Board of Elections was called to order in the second floor meeting room on February 15, 2018 at 5:00 p.m., Chairman Raymond presiding.

Board Members in attendance: Chairman Ken Raymond, Secretary Stuart Russell (by teleconference), and Member Susan Campbell

Staff Members in attendance: Director Tim Tsujii, Deputy Director Lamar Joyner, Monica Gary, and Kimberly Stuck

Other Staff: Forsyth County Assistant Attorney – Lonnie Albright

Pledge of Allegiance

Chairman Raymond led the pledge of allegiance.

Moment of Silence

Chairman Raymond led a moment of silence.

Public Comment Session

Chairman Raymond opened the public comment session with instructions. Speakers were asked to complete a public comment card and would have two minutes or less to speak. The speaker's name and address should be stated for the record. Questions should be included during the allotted time and answers would be given at the close of the session. A speaker's time could not be given to another individual. At the close of the public comment session, no additional statements or questions would be heard from the public. The public comment session included the following speakers:

Bobby Ray Wilson (H.U.M.A.N. Inc.) – 2324 Slater Ave., Winston Salem, NC 27101

Member Campbell moved to close public comments, Chairman Raymond seconded; **Motion** carried unanimously.

Chairman Raymond thanked Mr. Wilson for his comments regarding the Board of Elections for making voting accessible to the citizens of Forsyth County.

Approval of Minutes

Secretary Russell moved to approved minutes, Member Campbell seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

Resolution to Count Absentee Ballots at 2pm on Election Day

Ms. Gary requested the Boards approval to count absentee ballots at 2 p.m. without announcing the results. Secretary Russell moved to adopt the resolution; Member Campbell seconded; **Motion carried unanimously.**

Approval of One-Stop Voting Plan for May Primary

Deputy Director Joyner addressed the Kernersville Library/Senior Center One-Stop early voting site and the Kernersville YMCA as a potential alternate for use. Mr. Joyner provided insight to the challenges of using the YMCA. Deputy Director Joyner contacted St. Matthews Episcopal Church at the suggestion of Member Campbell, as well as Kernersville's Town Manager Mr. Swisher who provided Kernersville Recreation Center; neither of which had appropriate parking. Mr. Joyner stated that he and Mr. Tsujii met with Mike Reid with the Kernersville VFW Post 5352 located at Highway 40 and Highway 66. The Board reviewed photos obtained from the visit. Mr. Joyner provided an overview of the site and noted that a fee would be required which would be \$50.00-\$100.00/per day which is in the budget to cover for early voting. Member Campbell inquired about parking; Mr. Joyner stated that parking was exceptional and easy to find.

Director Tsujii stated the sites for approval would include: the Board of Elections Office, the Kernersville VFW Post 5352, the Lewisville Branch Library, the Rural Hall Branch Library, and the Southside Branch Library. Mr. Tsujii reviewed the schedule that was discussed in the last meeting and the desire to keep the same schedule from 2014 which would be starting on Thursday, April 19 at the Board of Elections Office and run Monday through Friday 8:30 am to 5:00 p.m. each day through Early Voting with the exception of the last Saturday which would be from 10:00 a.m. to 1 p.m. The remote locations will open the second week of Early Voting from 10:00 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. each day except the last Saturday which would be open from 10 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. Member Campbell moved to approve the four sites and the Board of Elections office and the hours; Chairman Raymond seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**.

Other Business

Director Tsujii provided the Board with a revised copy of the Absentee Problems and Solutions list based on approved changes. Chairman Raymond inquired if Secretary Russell needed any clarifications of the list provided, and at Secretary Russell's request read those items that had been changed.

Closed Session

Chairman Raymond inquired if closed session was needed; none offered.

Adjournment

Member Campbell moved to adjourn meeting, Secretary Russell seconded; **Motion carried unanimously**. Meeting adjourned at 5:23 p.m.

Approved:	
Susan Campbell, Chair	——————————————————————————————————————
Susan Campoen, Chan	Date
Stuart Russell, Vice-Chair	Date
Robert Durrah, Secretary	Date
John Loughridge, Member	 Date