BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

DAVID R. PLYLER
Chairman
DON MARTIN
Vice Chairman
FLEMING EL-AMIN
TED KAPLAN
RICHARD V. LINVILLE
TONYA D. MCDANIEL
GLORIA D. WHISENHUNT

AGENDA SUMMARY



December 3, 2018 – Government Center – 2:00 P.M.

Invocation led by Pastor Robert Hutchens, Meadowview Baptist Church, Winston-Salem

Pledge of Allegiance led by Commissioner Linville

1. Public Session

No Speaker Cards

2. Year-End Review by Chairman Plyler

Chairman Plyler summarized the Boards' activities for 2018. A copy of the comments is on file in the office of the Clerk to the Board.

3. Transfer of All Pending Business to Successor Board

Agenda Item #3 was not addressed.

4. Administration of Oath of Office by the Honorable Denise S. Hartsfield, District Court Judge, for County Commissioner Fleming A. El-Amin

The Honorable Denise S. Hartsfield, District Court Judge, administered the Oath of Office to Commissioner Fleming A. El-Amin.

5. Administration of Oath of Office by the Honorable Denise S. Hartsfield, District Court Judge, for County Commissioner Ian Theodore (Ted) Kaplan

The Honorable Denise S. Hartsfield, District Court Judge, administered the Oath of Office to Commissioner Ian Theodore (Ted) Kaplan.

6. Administration of Oath of Office by the Honorable Richard S. Gottlieb, Superior Court Judge, for County Commissioner Donald Lee Martin, Jr.

The Honorable Richard S. Gottlieb, Superior Court Judge, administered the Oath of Office to Commissioner Donald Lee Martin, Jr.

7. Administration of Oath of Office by the Honorable Denise S. Hartsfield, District Court Judge, for County Commissioner Tonya D. McDaniel

The Honorable Denise S. Hartsfield, District Court Judge, administered the Oath of Office to Commissioner Tonya D. McDaniel.

8. Administration of Oath of Office by the Honorable Denise S. Hartsfield, District Court Judge, for Forsyth Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor Toby D. Bost

The Honorable Denise S. Hartsfield, District Court Judge, administered the Oath of Office to Forsyth County Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor Toby D. Bost.

9. Administration of Oath of Office by the Honorable Denise S. Hartsfield, District Court Judge, for Forsyth Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor Wendell L. Schollander, III

The Honorable Denise S. Hartsfield, District Court Judge, administered the Oath of Office to Forsyth County Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor Wendell L. Schollander, III.

10. Administration of Oath of Office by the Honorable Denise S. Hartsfield, District Court Judge, for Forsyth Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor Elizabeth A. Tucker

The Honorable Denise S. Hartsfield, District Court Judge, administered the Oath of Office to Forsyth County Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor Elizabeth A. Tucker.

11. Election of Chairman

Commissioner David Plyler was elected Chairman for the 2018-2019 year.

Motion for Approval:
Second:
Commissioner Kaplan
Commissioner El-Amin

Unanimously Approved

12. Election of Vice Chairman

Commissioner Don Martin was elected Vice Chairman for the 2018-2019 year.

Motion for Approval: Commissioner Kaplan Second: Commissioner El-Amin

Unanimously Approved

13. Resolution Renewing and Updating Bonds for Various County Officials

Motion for Approval:
Second:
Chairman Plyler
Vice Chairman Martin

Unanimously Approved

14. Resolution Approving the Forsyth County Board of Commissioners' Meeting Schedule for 2019

Vice Chairman Martin made a motion to adopt Option 2.

Motion for Approval:
Second:
Vice Chairman Martin
Chairman Plyler

Unanimously Approved

15. Commissioners' Comments

Each Commissioner thanked their colleagues and the citizens of Forsyth County for their trust and support and wished everyone a joyous holiday season.

ADJOURNMENT

Motion for Approval:
Second:
Commissioner Kaplan
Chairman Plyler

Unanimously Approved

Approximate Time: 2:46 p.m.

Assistance for Disabled Persons will be Provided with 48 hours Notification to the Clerk to the Board at (336) 703-2020

Forsyth County Government Center, Winston-Salem, NC 27101